Music is for trial purposes only unless albums are out of print or live recordings. Links are posted to purchase albums!
site statistics

Monday, January 19, 2009


If you can't tell, I've been on a jazz kick lately. Even if you're not into jazz, give this and Dragon's Head a listen!

Icelandic guitarist Hilmar Jensson formed this trio with his downtown New York pals Jim Black and Andrew D'Angelo, to create a sonic environment filled with jagged grooves, unpredictable improvs, and live electronic transformations. A provocative atmosphere hovers over the musics: nothing goes on for very long, and there are frequent change-ups of tone and style.
D’Angelo’s acerbic alto sax and bass clarinet sounds combine with Jensson’s stringent lines and Black’s slashing attack, but equally there are moments of disquieting reverie, and it’s all performed with composure and conviction. Although quite free in part the music is highly organized; if Webern were alive today and into avant-jazz/rock this is the road he might be taking.

Meg Nem Sa
1. Led Tyftelin

2. Shooshabuster
3. International Four
4. Ain't No Waltz
5. Tumble Bugs
6. Meg Nem Sa
7. Okkar
8. Ouch
9. Flutter
10. Hilsner
11. Bloq
12. Sets Nidur
13. Amena

If you like it, BUY IT!

No comments: